Battree

10 years ago, my family left me, the dog, and the Christmas tree “Home alone” style when going on a skiing trip. To cheer me up, someone had gotten me a life-sized Batman cardboard figure that the dog later broke. To replace it, I crafted a Batman Christmas tree topper from a toilet paper roll and this has held its place on my parents’ Christmas trees every year since then.

At some point over the holidays this year, I found myself sitting alone next to the Christmas tree with nothing to do, so I made a quick pencil sketch of what I think a “Battree 2.0” should look like, and later made it into an ink and watercolour sketch. This is the result of our 10-year-old Christmas tradition:

 

 

Leave a Reply

